Champion White Falcons land two on All-State teams

Wahama sophomore Philip Hoffman delivers a pitch during a 2015 Class A state semifinal baseball game against Bishop Donahue at Appalachian Power Park in Charleston, W.Va.

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Sports Writers Association recently released its 2015 Class A All-State baseball teams. Mason County had two selections on the 2015 teams, both from state champion Wahama.

Sophomore Philip Hoffman earned a spot as a pitcher on the first team for the White Falcons, while junior Kaileb Sheets was selected as a second team pitcher. Wahama finished 25-7 and won its final four games en route to the program’s third state title.

The first-team captain was Man senior Braden Griffin, while Moorefield junior Will Schoonover was named second team captain.

2015 Class A All-State Baseball

First team

P — Jesse Padlow, Bishop Donahue, Sr.

P — Michael Stout, St. Marys, Sr.

P — Philip Hoffman, Wahama, So.

C — Kurt Latocha, Clay-Battelle, Sr.

IF — Josh Baker, Notre Dame, Jr.

IF — Jake Boice, Parkersburg Catholic, Sr.

IF — Bryce Strawderman, East Hardy, Jr.

IF — Brian Campbell, Wheeling Central, Jr.

OF — Austin Wetzel, East Hardy, So.

OF — Ian Riggleman, South Harrison, Jr.

OF — Dakota Watson, Williamstown, Sr.

UTIL — Braden Griffin, Man, Sr. (capt.)

UTIL — Sam McKown, Charleston Catholic, Sr.

UTIL — Austin Williams, Moorefield, Sr.

UTIL — Samson Cropper, Clay-Battelle, Sr.

Second team

P — Jacob Bishop, Greater Beckley Christian, Sr.

P — Kaileb Sheets, Wahama, Jr.

P – Holden Sions, Moorefield, So.

C — Will Schoonover, Moorefield, Jr. (capt.)

IF — Jesse Lambert, Pendleton County, Sr.

IF — Nate Bakaitis, Wheeling Central, Sr.

IF — Drew Lett, Doddridge County, Jr.

IF — Luke Cooper, Paden City, Jr.

OF — Aaron Lowe, Sherman, Sr.

OF — Tim Heavener, Pendleton County, Sr.

OF — Tyler Smith, Moorefield, Sr.

UTIL — Austin Ratliff, Gilmer County, Sr.

UTIL — Jordan Miller, Notre Dame, Jr.

UTIL — Thad Jameson, Charleston Catholic, Sr.

UTIL — Braeden Hurst, South Harrison, Jr.

Special honorable mention

Tanner Bragg, Clay-Battelle; Noah Jones, Trinity; Chad Morrison, Notre Dame; Jacob Montgomery, South Harrison; Spencer Harlow, Notre Dame; Wil Mullins, Greater Beckley Christian; Tanner Ray, Greater Beckley Christian; Dustin Yoakum, Greenbrier West; Jordan Covelli, Charleston Catholic; Brandon Buntura, Buffalo; Connor Fields, Buffalo; Jake Adkins, Man; Michael Fox, St. Marys; Andrew Cinalli, Parkersburg Catholic; Landon Travis, Williamstown; Chad Hofstetter, St. Marys; Logan Cooper, Pendleton County; Dakota Vetter, Moorefield; Corey McDonald, East Hardy

Honorable mention

Justin Everly, Trinity; Alex Murray, Notre Dame; Dakota Jarrett, South Harrison; Jessy Miller, South Harrison; Dalton Dempsey, Fayetteville; Brett Green, Greater Beckley Christian; Nick Boggess, Greenbrier West; Beau Whittington, Buffalo; Liam Bailey, Charleston Catholic; John Thomas Keffer, Man; Colby Buchanan, Tyler Consolidated; Zach Heasley, Paden City; Trent Hardbarger, Wirt County; Nick Roedersheimer, Parkersburg Catholic; Luke Cooper, Pendleton County; Troy Farrell, Fayetteville.