GAHS to induct 7 into Athletic HOF

Staff Report

GALLIPOLIS — Two women and five men were chosen for enshrinement as the newest members of the Gallia Academy Athletic Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2017 will be represented by inductees William Armstrong, Jr., Dylan Evans, Bryan Hall, Phil King, Meagan Matura, Eddie Nehus and Erin Nehus-Vergara.

The GAHS Athletic Hall of Fame inductees will be recognized at halftime of the Sept. 22 football contest against Portsmouth at Memorial Field. The 2017 Class will also be honored at a banquet on Sept. 23 at GAHS.

Contact Lori Young at 740-446-2000 for reservations to the 2017 GAHS Athletic Hall of Fame banquet.

Here is a breif bio of accomplishments for each of the HOF inductees.

William Armstrong, Jr.

Known as Big John, Armstrong graduated in 1980 and earned one varsity letter in football and three varsity letters in basketball. Armstrong was the basketball team’s co-MVP in 1980 while also being named a unanimous selection for SEOAL MVP honors after averaging over 20 points as a senior.

Dylan Evans

A 1995 graduate that lettered three times in football, four times in baseball and once in basketball. Evans was a three-time all-district and All-SEOAL selection in football and was named a first team offensive and defensive lineman in consecutive years (1993-94) before playing in the North-South game in 1995. Evans continued his football career at Marshall from 1995-96 before transferring to Ohio University in 1997.

Bryan Hall

A 1993 graduate that earned first team All-SEOAL football honors his junior and senior season, Hall was a an all-district and all-state first teamer his senior year and also played in the 1993 North-South game. Hall led the Blue Devils in tackles, receptions and receiving yards during his final two seasons with the program and was also named the 1992 team MVP.

Phil King

A 1992 graduate that earned varsity letters three times in football, twice in basketball and three time in baseball, King was a 1981 team MVP and All-SEOAL performer in football as a defensive back and wide receiver. King was also the 1982 MVP in basketball and also garnered all-district and All-SEOAL honors his senior year. King was also a two-time team MVP and All-SEOAL performer in baseball and was also awarded the 1982 Male Athletic Key.

Meagan Matura

A 1998 graduate that lettered three times in basketball, volleyball and track, Matura was an all-district, All-SEOAL and team MVP in volleyball in 1997. Matura was an all-district and All-SEOAL basketball player in 1997 while leading the team in rebounds. Matura was also a two-time regional qualifier in track and held the school discus record for a decade. Matura was awarded the 1998 Female Athletic Key and went on to play both volleyball and track at the University of Rio Grande.

Eddie Nehus

A 1997 graduate that lettered four times apiece in both cross country and track, Nehus was an All-SEOAL, All-Academic SEOAL and all-district selection in each of his four years of track. Nehus was an all-state honoree in both 1996 and 1997, and also won the 800m regional titles in those same seasons. Nehus was a four-time team MVP in cross country and was also an All-SEOAL, All-Academic SEOAL and all-district selection in each of his four years of cross country. Nehus — the 1997 Male Athletic Key winner — was the 1996 district champion and twice competed in the OHSAA cross country championships. Nehus competed in both cross country and track at Cedarville University.

Erin Nehus-Vergara

A 1999 graduate that earned four varsity letters in both cross country and track, Nehus-Vergara was a two-time team MVP in track while also coming away with All-SEOAL and All-Academic SEOAL honors three consecutive seasons. Nehus-Vergara competed at the state track meet three years and earned All-Ohio honors twice during that span. Nehus-Vergara was a four-time team MVP in cross country and was also a four-time recipient of All-SEOAL, All-Academic SEOAL and all-district honors. Nehus-Bergara competed in four OHSAA CC championships and also earned all-state honors twice. Nehus-Vergara went on to win NAIA and NCCAA All-American honors a total of five times during her collegiate career at Cedarville University.

Staff Report