Republicans dominate regional, state races

By Sarah Hawley -

OHIO VALLEY — With the votes of those around Meigs and Gallia Counties, the state of Ohio and the nation now tallied, things area little clearer as to who will be in office come 2017 — Republicans.

Republican candidates Donald J. Trump, President; Rob Portman, U.S. Senate; Bill Johnson, 6th District House of Representatives; Frank Hoagland, 30th Senate District; Jay Edwards, 94th District House of Representatives; and Ryan Smith, 93rd District House of Representatives; will represent the area.

With all of Ohio’s 8,887 precincts now reporting, results remain unofficial until the official vote counts are held in each county later this month, although many of the results from Tuesday are by a wide enough margin that the outcome is unlikely to be impacted by any changes in the official count.

Donald J. Trump, as of mid-day Wednesday, has a 52.05 percent to 43.51 percent advantage over Hillary Clinton as he has won Ohio. Trump’s vote total surpassed 2.7 million, while Clinton received slightly more than 2.3 million votes.

In Meigs County, Trump received 73 percent of the vote (6,869 votes).

In Gallia County, Trump received 76 percent of the vote (9,567 votes).

Clinton won seven counties in Ohio, including the counties which include “the 3 Cs.” Clinton’s victories came in Athens, Hamilton, Cuyahoga, Franklin, Mahoning, Summit and Lucas counties. Trump claimed victory in the remainder of the state.

Trump’s victory was part of a more widespread Republican victory in Ohio on Tuesday.

Incumbent United State Senator Rob Portman easily defeated former-Governor Ted Strickland for the senate seat. Portman received 58.32 percent of the vote (3,048,467 votes), to 36.92 percent for Strickland.

Portman won 84 of Ohio’s 88 counties, with Strickland claiming victory in only four counties — Athens, Cuyahoga, Franklin and Lucas counties.

Both Meigs and Gallia counties supported Portman’s reelection bid.

Portman received 68.24 percent of the vote in Gallia County and 67.37 percent of the vote in Meigs County.

Like Portman, Representative Bill Johnson also earned reelection.

Johnson won each of the 18 counties in the 6th District en route to reelection. District-wide, Johnson received 70.64 percent of the vote (240,036 votes) defeating challenger, Michael L. Lorentz (D) who received 86,938 votes.

Johnson received 74.33 percent of the vote in Meigs County (6,647 votes). In Gallia County, Johnson received 77.89 percent of the vote (9,149 votes).

In the judicial races, Appeals Court Judge Pat DeWine defeated Cynthia Rice for the term beginning on Jan. 2. DeWine received 56.42 percent of the vote to 43.58 percent for Rice.

DeWine received the majority of votes in both Gallia and Meigs County as well.

In Meigs, DeWine received 65.53 percent (4,575 votes), while in Gallia County he received 66.42 percent of the vote (6,477 votes).

The second Ohio Supreme Court race has Pat Fischer winning by a less than one percent. Fischer received 50.31 percent of the state-wide vote, with John P. O’Donnell receiving 49.69 percent.

In Gallia County, O’Donnell claimed a slim victory, receiving 4,592 votes (50.82 percent) to 4,443 for Fischer.

O’Donnell also won Meigs County, receiving 3,293 votes (50.95 percent) to 3,170 for Fischer.

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Maureen O’Connor was unopposed in her reelection bid.

Matthew McFarland was reelected to the Fourth District Court of Appeals, defeating challenger Valarie K. Gerlach by a margin of 66.40 percent to 33.60 percent.

McFarland won each of the district’s 14 counties, including Gallia and Meigs.

Gallia County voters gave McFarland a 71.98 percent (6,561 votes) to 28.02 percent victory in the county. In Meigs County, McFarland received 58.61 percent of the vote (3,571 votes).

For the State Board of Education, 8th District, five individuals were competing for the unexpired term which ends on Dec. 31, 2018. Meigs County is in District 8.

Nancy P. Hollister received 27.84 percent of the vote district wide (97,104 votes), defeating term-limited Stat Rep. Debbie Phillips (D-Athens). Phillips received 25.36 percent of the vote district-wide (88,456 votes).

Phillips won Meigs County, receiving 49.50 percent of the vote (3,592 votes). Hollister was second in Meigs County with 23.65 percent of the vote.

Gallia County is in District 10. In that race, Nick Owens defeated Braydon L. Bevans 60.45 percent to 39.55 percent. Owens received 52.15 percent of the vote in Gallia County (4,517 votes) to 47.85 percent (4,145 votes) for Bevans.

In the 94th District House of Representatives race to fill the seat of Phillips, Republican Jay Edwards of Nelsonville defeated Democrat Sarah Grace of Athens.

Edwards won three of the district’s four counties, including Meigs, according to the Ohio Secretary of State website’s election results. Edwards secured nearly 75 percent of the vote in Meigs County, defeating Grace by a total of 6,743 to 2,330 in Meigs County.

Likewise, Edwards had a wide margin of victory in Washington and Vinton counties. In Washington County, Edwards received 9,271 votes to 4,538 for Grace. In Vinton County it was 1,210 for Edwards and 654 for Grace.

Grace did win in Athens County, although by less than 2,000 votes. Grace received 13,375 votes to 11,425 for Edwards.

Overall, Edwards received 28,649 votes to 20,897 for Grace in the unofficial results.

Gallia County is in the 93rd District in which Rep. Ryan Smith was unopposed in his reelection bid.

In the 30th District State Senate race, Republican challenger Frank Hoagland defeated incumbent Lou Gentile (D).

Hoagland received 52.84 percent of the vote district-wide (82,450 votes) to 47.16 percent (73,591 votes) for Gentile.

Meigs County voters favored Hoagland by a 65.58 percent to 34.42 percent margin. Gentile won only Athens and Jefferson counties.

Gallia County’s state senate district seat was not up for reelection.

Voter turnout in Ohio was slightly above 69 percent across the state, while it was 68.57 percent in Gallia County and 63.49 percent in Meigs County.

Editor’s note: Many of these results were not known as of press time for the Wednesday edition, or the results were projected but vote totals were not yet available.

By Sarah Hawley