Stearns and Lush earn Class AAA all-state mentions

By Alex Hawley -

Point Pleasant junior Abe Stearns releases a pitch during the Big Blacks’ 3-1 loss to Nitro in the regional tournament, on May 23 at PPHS.

Paul Boggs/OVP Sports

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — For the first time since 2013, the Point Pleasant baseball team has representation on the Class AAA all-state team, as selected by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

PPHS junior Abe Stearns was named special honorable mention for the Big Blacks, while senior Chris Lush earned an honorable mention nod for his efforts on the diamond.

Stearns, Point Pleasant’s ace on the mound, pitched in 15 games for the Red, Black and White, and finished with a 4-3 record, and a 2.85 earned run average. Stearns struck out 47 batters and walked just 25 in 59 innings of work this spring.

Lush was a driving force behind the PPHS offense this season, batting .352 with 29 runs scored and 14 runs batted in. The Big Blacks’ senior had five doubles and four triples this season, while slugging .476 with a .402 on-base percentage.

PPHS ended the season in the regional semifinal, falling to eventual state runner-up Nitro by a 3-1 count. The Big Blacks’ final record was 18-14.

Jefferson senior infielder Paul Witt was named first team captain after leading his team to a second-straight state title. Ripley senior Cody Pittenger was selected as second team captain as a utility player.

Along with Witt, Ripley’s Chris Jordan and South Charleston’s Trevor Sampson are each making their second straight all-state first team. Greenbrier East senior Jonathan Carr is also on the Class AAA first team for a second time, as he made was on the list as a sophomore.

Class AAA All-State Team

First Team

P – Bradley Davis, Jefferson, Sr.

P – Jacob Bradley, Nitro, Sr.

P – Michael Maiolo, Woodrow Wilson, So.

IF – Chris Jordan, Ripley, Sr.

IF – Paul Witt, Jefferson, Sr. (captain)

IF – Trevor Sampson, South Charleston, Sr.

IF – Kirk Jennings, Cabell Midland, Jr.

OF – Druw Bowen, George Washington, Sr.

OF – Spencer Rodgers, Wheeling Park, Sr.

OF – Jake Rager, Martinsburg, Sr.

C – Chad Harper, Brooke, Sr.

UTIL – Andrew Stone, Nitro, Sr.

UTIL – Anthony Jarvis, Ripley, Jr.

UTIL – Austin Bulman, Jefferson, Jr.

UTIL – Jonathan Carr, Greenbrier East, Sr.

Second team

P – Austin Cross, Jefferson, Jr.

P – Wyatt Stuckey, Spring Mills, Sr.

P – Garrett Gress, Hurricane, Jr.

IF – Derek Bloomfield, Oak Hill, Sr.

IF – Aaron Perry, Hurricane, Jr.

IF – Trey Stamey, Musselman, Sr.

IF – Zac Sacripanti, Brooke, Jr.

OF – Chris Ruppenthal, Hedgesville, Jr.

OF – Matt Harrison, Nitro, Sr.

OF – Colby Johnson, Greenbrier East, Sr.

C – Matt Jewell, Nitro, Sr.

UTIL – Wade Garrett, Parkersburg, Jr.

UTIL – Cody Hammond, Spring Mills, Sr.

UTIL – Jared Bumpus, Ripley, Sr.

UTIL – Cody Pittenger, Ripley, Sr. (captain)

Special Honorable Mention

Cole Day, Parkersburg South; Kyle Goodwin, Parkersburg; Joey Lokant, Oak Hill; Brian Schack, Shady Spring; Hunter Fansler, Woodrow Wilson; Daylon Colley, Greenbrier East; Tyler Abbott, South Charleston; Casey Frye, Winfield; Jared Hill, Nitro; Jacob Marler, South Charleston; Abe Stearns, Point Pleasant; Cole Tilley, Cabell Midland; Daniel Brandon, Spring Valley; Sam Aulick, Huntington; Madison Jeffrey, Cabell Midland; Casey Kelly, Spring Valley; Brice Leep, Huntington; Jonah Wellman, Spring Valley; Logan Grimm, John Marshall; Collin Llad, Wheeling Park; Jacob Goodnight, University; J.T. Stegmaier, Morgantown; Tyler Hart, University; Ross Mulhall, University; Michael DeFelice, Morgantown; Zane Gallagher, Morgantown; Jordan Page, Morgantown; Charlie Barnholt, Jefferson; Hunter Martin, Martinsburg; David Gainer, Elkins; Brandon Tenney, Buckhannon-Upshur.

Honorable Mention

Luke Layhew, Ripley; Hunter DeLong, Parkersburg South; J.T. Kemp, Parkersburg South; Andrew Herrod, Parkersburg; Brandon Chandler, Woodrow Wilson; Cameron Pack, Woodrow Wilson; Dylan Foster, Woodrow Wilson; Evan Wood, Princeton; Jacob Cassidy, Oak Hill; Jake Allen, Hurricane; Hayden Burke, Riverside; Jake Carr, St. Albans; Jason Douglas, Nitro; Tate Hancock, Winfield; Jason Haynes, Capital; Aidan Johnson, George Washington; Nick Loftis, St. Albans; Chris Lush, Point Pleasant; Branson Martin, Hurricane; Ryan McNeal, Riverside; Isaiah Moss, South Charleston; Austin Crebs, Wheeling Park; Josh Petit, George Washington; Jared Shawver, Logan; Cam Thomas, Capital; Alex Toler, Logan; Taylor White, St. Albans; Ben Haikal, Huntington; Coleton Carter, Cabell Midland; Myles Robertson, Huntington; Austin McCloud, Spring Valley; Austin Skrzyneki, John Marshall; Cam Stoldt, University; Jaret Kennedy, University; Zac Knight, Hedgesville; John Judy, Hampshire; Cameron Alvarez, Jefferson; Timmy Joy, Washington; Spencer Delawder, Washington; Dylan Carroll, Jefferson; Jordan Beans, Jefferson; Sam Ross, Elkins; Adam Riggleman, Elkins; Mitchell Williams, Buckhannon-Upshur; Dalton Marple, Buckhannon-Upshur; Dylan Gump, Lewis County; Jacob Moneypenny, Lewis County; Evan Gibson, Lincoln County; Jub Delbrugge, Wheeling Park; Tyler Cooley, Wheeling Park.

Alex Hawley can be reached at 740-446-2342, ext. 2100.

Point Pleasant junior Abe Stearns releases a pitch during the Big Blacks’ 3-1 loss to Nitro in the regional tournament, on May 23 at PPHS. Pleasant junior Abe Stearns releases a pitch during the Big Blacks’ 3-1 loss to Nitro in the regional tournament, on May 23 at PPHS. Paul Boggs/OVP Sports

By Alex Hawley