13 locals named to District 13 girls teams

By Bryan Walters - bwalters@civitasmedia.com

South Gallia senior Mikayla Poling, right, tries to dribble past an Eastern defender during a January 21 TVC Hocking girls basketball contest in Mercerville, Ohio.

Bryan Walters/OVP Sports

A total of 13 girls from Gallia and Meigs counties were selected to the District 13 Basketball Coaches Association teams for the 2015-16 season, as voted on by the varsity girls coaches within the District 13 borders.

Three young ladies came away with first team accolades and three more earned second team honors, while the remaining seven all garnered special mention selections within their respective divisions. In all, six of the 13 local choices were seniors.

River Valley senior Leia Moore, Eastern junior Laura Pullins and Southern junior Faith Teaford were the first team selections. Moore earned her honor in Division III, while both Pullins and Teaford were Division IV choices.

Second team accolades went to South Gallia senior Mikayla Poling in Division IV, while Gallia Academy junior Adrienne Jenkins and Meigs freshman Kassidy Betzing were each second team choices in Division I-II.

The Blue Angels had two special mention selections in D-2 with senior Jordan Walker and junior Jalea Caldwell, while senior Halley Barnes and Madison Fields both earned special mention honors for the Lady Marauders in Division I-II.

River Valley senior Shelby Brown was a special mention selection in Division III, while Southern senior Ali Deem and Eastern junior Elizabeth Collins were special mention honorees in Division IV.

Rod Bentley of Vinton County was named the Division I-II coach of the year, while Doug Graham of Ironton and Jerry Close of Waterford respectively came away with the same honors in D-3 and D-4.

VCHS senior Michaela Puckett was named the Division I-II player of the year and will serve as one of the two D-13 representatives at the Ohio North-South All-Star game later this year.

Ironton senior Lexie Barrier earned Division III player of the year honors and will serve as the other D-13 representative at the Ohio North-South All-Star game.

Waterford senior Dani Drayer was named the Division IV player of the year as well.

The District 13 All-Star Game will be held Monday, March 14 at Jackson High School. The girls game will begin at 6 p.m. and the boys will play afterwards. There will be a three-point shooting and slam dunk contest in between games.

2015-16 District 13 Girls Basketball Teams


First Team

Michaela Puckett, Vinton County 12; Rebekah Green, Jackson 10; Molly McCutcheon, Warren 10; Paige Davis, Logan 12; Jalen Hale, Vinton County 12; Allison McNeal, Logan 12.

Player of the Year: Michaela Puckett, Vinton County.

Coach of the Year: Rod Bentley, Vinton County.

Second Team

Adrienne Jenkins, Gallia Academy 11; Alexis McCollum, Athens 12; Katie Rauch, Warren 11; Kassidy Betzing, Meigs 9; Hannah Grosel, Marietta 11.

Special Mention

Cassidy Bosch, Logan 12; Jalea Caldwell, Gallia Academy 11; Madison Fields, Meigs 9; Amelia Davis, Jackson 11; Jordan Walker, Gallia Academy 12; Halley Barnes, Meigs 12; Tricia Bentley, Logan 12; Taylor Gregory, Athens 12; Adrienne Lang, Warren 12; Audrey May, Marietta 12; Madison Miller, Marietta 12; Sophie Miller, Athens 12; Autumn Roddy, Warren 12.


First Team

Lexie Barrier, Ironton 12; Leah Richardson, Alexander 11; Emily Chapman, Fairland 10; Kaylee Curry, Chesapeake 12; Cheyenne Scott, Ironton 12; Leia Moore, River Valley 12.

Player of the Year: Lexie Barrier, Ironton.

Coach of the Year: Doug Graham, Ironton.

Second Team

Sydney Webb, Ironton 11; Kaci Russell, Rock Hill 12; Jessie Addis, Nelsonville York 10; Emily Compliment, Dawson Bryant 10; Rachel Richardson, Alexander 11.

Special Mention

Kaitlyn Hurd, Nelsonville York 12; Jayla Mace, Alexander 11; Lexi Wise, Ironton 10; Bethany Blanton, Oak Hill 11; Shelby Brown, River Valley 12; Taylor Perry, Fairland 12; Allie Marshall, Fairland 9; Jordan Hannan, Ironton 12; Kaylee Beals, Coal Grove 12; Anna Darby, Rock Hill 11.


First Team

Dani Drayer, Waterford 12; Laura Pullins, Eastern 11; Faith Teaford, Southern 11; Nikki Kish, Trimble 12; Regan Porter, Waterford 12; Ali Kern, Waterford 10.

Player of the Year: Dani Drayer, Waterford.

Coach of the Year: Jerry Close, Waterford.

Second Team

Lynsey Booker, Ironton St. Joe 12; Cheyenne Barker, Belpre 11; Mikayla Poling, South Gallia 12; Jenyson Shepherd, Symmes Valley 10; Destiny Tabler, Federal Hocking 11.

Special Mention

Kaitlyn Payne, Symmes Valley 12; Megan Ball, Waterford 10; Morgan Turner, Ironton St. Joe 11; Elizabeth Collins, Eastern 10; Meranda Hayes, Symmes Valley 12; Morgan Murphy, Trimble 12; Hannah Lawrentz, Belpre 12; Ali Deem, Southern 12; Sanae Dutiel, Miller 12; Katelyn Hughes, Belpre 12.

Bryan Walters can be reached at 740-446-2342, ext. 2101.

South Gallia senior Mikayla Poling, right, tries to dribble past an Eastern defender during a January 21 TVC Hocking girls basketball contest in Mercerville, Ohio.
http://aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/42/2016/03/web1_3.6-SG-Poling.jpgSouth Gallia senior Mikayla Poling, right, tries to dribble past an Eastern defender during a January 21 TVC Hocking girls basketball contest in Mercerville, Ohio. Bryan Walters/OVP Sports

By Bryan Walters



6:50 pm
Updated: 8:15 pm. |    
Walking for awareness
7:45 pm |    
Looking to warmer tracks
6:51 pm |    
Providing for neighbors