Last updated: December 24. 2013 3:48AM - 1886 Views
By - bwalters@civitasmedia.com

Southern quarterback Tristen Wolfe (3) escapes pressure from Eastern defender Zack Scowden, left, during the Tornadoes 34-0 victory at Roger Lee Adams Memorial Field in Racine, Ohio.
Southern quarterback Tristen Wolfe (3) escapes pressure from Eastern defender Zack Scowden, left, during the Tornadoes 34-0 victory at Roger Lee Adams Memorial Field in Racine, Ohio.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Ohio Valley Publishing area had 17 players chosen to the All-TVC Hocking football team for the 2013 campaign, as was voted on by the coaches within the Tri-Valley Conference Hocking Division.

Wahama led the local programs with six selections, followed by Southern with five choices and South Gallia with four representatives. Eastern also had two selections to the all-league squad.

Kane Roush, Wyatt Zuspan, Wes Harrison, Hunter Bradley, Colton Neal and Josh Haddox — all seniors — were the representatives for the White Falcons, who finished second only to Trimble in the league standings. The sextet leaves WHS with a combined 31-1 overall record in TVC Hocking contests.

The Tornadoes — who finished third and qualified for their first-ever playoff appearance — were represented by seniors Tyler Barton, Travis Kimes, Wyatt Jarrell and Brandon Grueser, as well as junior Tristen Wolfe.

Seniors Jacob White, Ethan Spurlock and Seth Carpenter were chosen for the Rebels, as was junior Brayden Greer. SGHS finished tied for fourth place with both Belpre and Federal Hocking in the league standings.

The Eagles were represented by seniors Roger Bunce and Zach Scowden after finishing seventh overall in the nine-team race.

Trimble — the Division VII state runner-up — led the way with eight total choices, which included a clean sweep in the special individual honors. Phil Faires was named coach of the year, while Konner Standley and Jacob Koons were respectively chosen as the offensive and defensive players of the year.

Belpre and Federal Hocking each had four selections, while Waterford and Miller had two representatives apiece on the All-TVC Hocking squad.

2013 All-TVC Hocking Football Team

Konner Standley Sr. Trimble

Jacob Koons Sr Trimble

Jon Stevens Sr. Trimble

Austin Downs Jr. Trimble

Jacob Altier Sr. Trimble

Micah Couch Jr. Trimble

Jacob Kish Sr. Trimble

Kane Roush Sr Wahama

Wyatt Zuspan Sr Wahahama

Wes Harrison Sr Wahama

Hunter Bradley Sr Wahama

Colton Neal Sr. Wahama

Josh Haddox Sr. Wahama

Tyler Barton Sr Southern

Tristen Wolfe Jr Southern

Travis Kimes Sr Southern

Wyatt Jarrell Sr Southern

Brandon Grueser Sr. Southern

Jacob White Sr South Gallia

Ethan Spurlock Sr South Gallia

Brayden Greer Jr South Gallia

Seth Carpenter Sr South Gallia

D.J. Leftwich Sr Belpre

Manny Tullius Jr Belpre

Tavian Miller So Belpre

Dakota McDaniel Sr Belpre

Delbert Crum Sr Federal Hocking

Peyton Seel Sr Federal Hocking

Alfy Nichols Sr Federal Hocking

Devan Maxey So Federal Hocking

Roger Bunce Sr Eastern

Zach Scowden Sr Eastern

Austin Lang Sr Waterford

Jordan Hendershot Jr Waterford

Garrett Sinift Sr Miller

Stephan McGrath Sr. Miller

Offensive Player of the Year — Konner Standley, Trimble

Defensive Player of the Year — Jacob Koons, Trimble

Coach of Year – Phil Faires, Trimble

Final Standings: 1. Trimble 8-0; 2. Wahama 7-1; 3. Southern 6-2; T-4. Belpre, South Gallia and Federal Hocking 4-4; 7. Eastern 2-6; 8. Waterford 1-7; 9. Miller 0-8.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Gallipolis Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com