Last updated: August 27. 2014 3:26PM - 867 Views
By - lkriz@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

REEDSVILLE — Many approvals were made at the recent Eastern Local School District regular meeting.

After the approval of the July 23 minutes and July financial reports, the board approved an amendment to the permanent appropriation resolution and certified additional revenue to the Meigs County Auditor.

The board went into executive session and when they returned, the following substitute teachers were approved for the 2014-15 school year, pending proper certification: John G. Bailey, Patrece Beegle, John R. Bell, Ilse Burris, Teresa C. Carr, Cynthia Chadwell, Susan Cochran, Jeff Dolan, Ryan Eaton, Timothy Ellifritz, Marjorie Fetty, John C. Flemming, Julie Gillem, Heather Hare, Betty L. Hoschar, Maegan Lackey, Jessica Marcum, Melissa Morris, Lori Mugrage, Erin R. Perkins, Gay Perrin, Amanda Reed, William Nathan Robinette, Edward Safranek, Amanda Schwarzel, Sean Siegert, John H. Taylor, Randy J. Wachter, Jason Williams and Rick Wilson.

The following teacher aides were also approved, pending proper certification: Mary Bradbury, Maleta Buckley, Stephanie Buckley, Carrie R. Carpenter, Paula Dunfee, Julie Gillem, Rebecca Leake, Amanda Schwarzel, Connie Soulsby and Launa Teaford.

The board approved the Pupil Activity and Supplemental Contracts for the 2014-15 school year, pending proper certification, for Alex Amos, volunteer assistant for varsity football coach, Jordan Moore, junior class advisor, and Pupil Activity Contracts for Morgan Burt, seventh-grade girls volleyball coach, and Ally Hendrix, eighth-grade girls volleyball coach.

Rachel Martin was accepted as the the district curriculum coordinator for the 2014-15 school year, the the board accepted the resignation of Joan L. Brown, who previously served as a substitute cook in the Eastern Local School District. The board approved Shandi Sargent as a student teacher for the fall semester. She will be placed with Sharon Logan and Dee Simmons. Jessica Wingrove was also approved, and will be placed with Heather Wilcoxen.

Romayne Martindale was approved as a part-time middle school paraprofessional for 2014-15 school year and is on a one-year contract and at the appropriate salary schedule in accordance with the OAPSE/AFSCME Local 448. Robyn Howard, Kirk Reed, Rebecca Otto and Deborah Kerwood were approved as mentors for the upcoming school year. Marlin Evans is also approved as a part-time mechanic and is on a one-year contract at the appropriate salary schedule in accordance with the OAPSE/AFSCME Local 448.

The board approved a lease agreement with Heart of the Valley Head Start for use of the Tuppers Plains building between July 1, 2014 and June 30, 2016, at a rate of $1,650 per month. Alina Palmer, a 10th grade foreign exchange student from Germany, is approved for enrollment during the 2014-15 school year.

The following open enrollment students for the 2014-15 school year were approved: Ciara Frechette, Jordan Frechette, Tiana Frechette, Mason Sheppard, Sarah Morris, Tyler Morris, Zach Davidson. The board denied Tiffany Smith open enrollment. The following elementary volunteers for the 2014-15 school year were approved: Jeryl Bowie, Paula Brown, Angie Damewood, Brenda Day, Paulette Harrison, Shilo Little, Debra McDaniel, Jenny Ridenour, Chris Schreckengost, Alice Sharp, Amy Smith, Jeannie Taylor and Rae Lynn Whaley.

The board adopted the Talented and Gifted Policy Plan and Procedures, which is required by the Ohio Department of Education, and approved a depository agreement with Farmers Bank and Savings Co. for the deposit of public funds up to a maximum of $2,250,000 of active funds at any one time between August 1, 2014 and July 31, 2018.

A purchase order to the Athens-Meigs Educational Service Center for July and August Counseling Grant Services in the amount of $24,927.97 was approved. This purchase order replaces PO 31344, which was closed at the end of the 2014 fiscal year.

The board approved the positions posting for the 21st Century Community Learning Center after school program starting September 8 – April 20, 2015, including the project director, site coordinator, academic specialist, instructional aide(s) and bus driver.

Finally, the board set Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2014 at 6:30 p.m. in the elementary library conference room as the date, time, and location of the next regular meeting of the Eastern Local Board of Education.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Gallipolis Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com