Early voting ends Nov. 2

Last updated: October 08. 2013 9:19PM - 1575 Views
Amber Gillenwater agillenwater@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

GALLIPOLIS — With less than 30 days until the 2013 general election, candidates in Gallia County are preparing for Election Day on November 5, and voters throughout Ohio will have until 12 p.m. on Saturday, November 2 to cast an early ballot this year.

The final day to register to vote in this year’s general election was Monday, and, while in-office early voting at the Gallia County Board of Elections has remained slow since beginning on Tuesday, October 1, or, 35 days prior the election, the board of elections reported on Tuesday that approximately 150 absentee ballots have been received by their office so far this year on a ballot filled with non-partisan local races and local levies and options. Voters can cast early ballots by visiting the Gallia County Board of Elections in the Gallia County Courthouse on weekdays between 8:30 a.m. and 4 p.m.

Citizens of Gallipolis will be voting on three Gallipolis City Commission seats this year.

The positions currently being held by current city commission president Jay Cremeens, commissioners Matt Johnson and Jim Cozza will be up for grabs this year, and while Cremeens and Johnson will both be in the running this November, Cozza, the longest serving commissioner currently on the board, will not be running for re-election this term.

Challengers Paul Covey, Albert “Tony” Gallagher and Thomas Meadows are also vying for commission seats this year.

Positions on both the Gallia County Local School Board of Education and the Gallipolis City School Board of Education are also open this year.

Incumbents Mel Carter and Scott Williamson, as well as Stephanie Mulford, are seeking election to the Gallia County Local School Board where three members will be elected this year. Lynn Angell and Dr. Timothy Kyger are also seeking re-election to their current positions as city school board members, while Amee Rees is seeking election to an unexpired term on the city school board.

Residents in the villages of Centerville, Cheshire, Crown City, Rio Grande and Vinton will be voting on council members during this election.

In Centerville, four council members are to be elected. In the running this year are Virginia Daniels, Ted Perroud, Terry Robert and Brian Waugh. In Cheshire, four open council seats are also available. Perry Beebe, Mark Coleman and Roy Taylor are seeking to fill those positions. In Crown City, there are no candidates vying the four open council seats, while David Brodeur, Cory Camden, Patty Weatherholt and Thomas Weaver are seeking to fill four council seats in the Village of Rio Grande. Jennifer Easter is also seeking election to the Board of Public Affairs. In Vinton, Richard Eblin’s name is in the running for a council seat. Four council seats are open in that village, as well.

Voters in the county will also be deciding upon local fire levies in Raccoon Township and Clay Township, while local options concerning the sale of alcohol will be on the ballot in regard to Smokin’ Robs and Walmart in Gallipolis, and the Korner store and the Wounded Goose restaurant in Bidwell.

In addition, two trustees in each of the county’s 15 townships will be elected this year. The following is a complete list of the local candidates that will appear on the 2013 ballot:

Addison Township — Trustees: Fred Burnett and Robert Rothgeb.

Cheshire Township — Trustees: Michael R. Conkle and James D. Taylor.

Clay Township — Trustees: Jim L. Duke, John H. Doss, Jr., Bobby Franklin and Ray Slone.

Gallipolis Township — Trustees: Harry Dean Brownell and Ronnie C. Carmichael.

Green Township — Trustees: David J. Graham and Seth Montgomery.

Greenfield Township — Henry M. Bartles, Hayden Hammond and Roy McCarty.

Guyan Township — Trustees: Billy Call, Roy L. Jones, Terry L. O’Dell and Roger A. Watson.

Harrison Township — Trustees: Margaret Adkins, Bobby Angel and Mark W. Suver.

Huntington Township — Trustees: Rodney Alderman, Glenn A. Kiser, Jeff Oiler and Roger Shadwick.

Morgan Township — Trustees: Turley E. George, William C. Hash, Jr., Samuel O. Kemper, John Manley and Charles Smith.

Ohio Township — Fiscal Officer (unexpired term): Marilyn L. Danford; Trustees: Joshua Hundley, Robert A. McGuire, James E. Waugh and a write-in candidate.

Perry Township — Trustees: Rashel Fallon, Mark Hager and Jeffrey A. Pope.

Raccoon Township — Trustees: Bryan S. Hamilton, Bryan R. Jones, Matthew Lee Roberts and Chuck W. Williams.

Springfield Township — Trustees: David L. Cox, Scott L. Howell and Vaughn E. Taylor.

Walnut Township — Trustees: Wanda Hively, Richard L. Ingles and Mitchell Dale Salyers.

Gallia-Vinton Educational Service Center Board — Sub-District Four: Douglas W. Pugh; Sub-District Six: no candidate.

Symmes Valley School District Board of Education (three to be elected): Allen K. Miller, Hope Rowe, Tommy Shepherd, Chris Thompson and Mike Wall.

Fairland School District Board of Education (three to be elected): Martin Appleton, Barbara Dinwiddie, Gary L. Sowards, Matt Ward and Charles Workman.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Gallipolis Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com