Defenders land 4 on all-district soccer team

Bryan Walters

November 7, 2013

GALLIPOLIS, Ohio — The Ohio Valley Christian soccer team landed four players on the 2013 Southeast District Soccer Coaches Association teams in Division III, as voted on by the coaches within that respective division.

The Defenders had one first team selection, a second team selection and a pair of honorable mention choices after completing the year with a 7-9-1 overall mark. OVCS advanced to the Ohio Christian Schools Athletic Association Final Four before dropping two straight for a fourth-place finish.

Senior midfielder T.G. Miller was the lone first team choice for the Defenders, while junior sweeper Phil Hollingshead was chosen to the second team. Senior sweeper Scotty Wood and junior midfielder Evan Bowman were the two honorable mention selection for the Blue and Gold.

Besides Miller, first team selections to the 2013 Division III list included: Donavon Spriggs (Adena), Josiah Beha (Alexander), Devin Daniell (Belpre), Joey Haynes (Chesapeake), Nathan Scott and Landan Hauke (Eastern Brown), Blake Hildebrandt, Joey Wilson and Ryan Bates (Leesburg Fairfield), James Mohr (Glenwood), Noah Scott (Lynchburg-Clay), Blake Anderson (North Adams), John Denzik (Peebles), Jake Neal (Piketon), Mason Pelphrey (Ports. Clay), Steve Matthews (Ports. West), Joseph Payton (Ironton SJ), Denver Fuller (South Webster), Hunter Miles and Dylan Miles (Southeastern), Bryce Romanello and Tyler Montavon (Valley), Alex Creamer (West Union), Caleb Roof and Keith Thurmer (Wheelersburg), and Austin Proehl, Jay Scott and Eric Hutton (Zane Trace).

Joining Hollingshead on the D-3 second team were: Jacob Lemaster (Adena), Chris Wingett (Alexander), Ryan Epperly (Belpre), Sawyer Stephens (Chesapeake), Daniel Grayless (Eastern Brown), Cody Bennett and Quintin Schaffer (Fairfield Leesburg), Ben Birzele (Glenwood), Gage Waits and Devin Pierson (Lynchburg-Clay), William Arnette (North Adams), Spencer Kelley and Jacob Gross (Peebles), Mark Heslep (Piketon), Eldin Sarajlic (Ports. Clay), Jay Pitts and Zach Dials (Ports. West), Shannan Litton (Ironton SJ), Shane Zimmerman and Tyler Sowards (South Webster), Alec Pinkerton (Southeastern), Chris Martin (Valley), J.J. Kramer (West Union), Matthew Boll and Mark Butler (Wheelersburg), and Ridge Shepherd and Zach Davis (Zane Trace).

Wood and Bowman were joined on the D-3 honorable mention list by: Justin Lemaster and Levi Lane (Adena), Aric Russel and Kyle Howard (Alexander), Cody Storer and Zach Pribble (Belpre), Caleb Heffner and Ryan Garcia (Chesapeake), Nathan Schmitt and Curtis Burns (Eastern Brown), Trey Current and Wyatt Crothers (Fairfield Leesburg), Billy Nichols and Jordan Moore (Glenwood), Chaz Lanier and Mason Jordan (Lynchburg-Clay), Adam Pertuset and Noah Anderson (North Adams), Zach Jones and Clay Brown (Peebles), Dylan Williams and Garrett Liftweiss (Piketon), Nate Hinze and Adam Cooper (Ports. Clay), Devin Yazelle and Josh Sheets (Ports. West), Blake Balestra and Joey Bush (Ironton SJ), P.J. Winters and Alek Blevins (South Webster), Isaiah Dresbach and Blake Vest (Southeastern), Taylor Golden and Alex Gahm (Valley), Ryan Toney and Timmy Poynter (West Union), Zach Jordan and Collin Hanzel (Wheelersburg), and Kohl Noble and Liam Vanhoose (Zane Trace).

Eric Hutton of Zane Trace was named the Division III player of the year and Brian Ortlieb of Fairfield Leesburg was named the coach of the year. The Defenders were also one of 25 boys teams to receive the Southeast District Team Sportsmanship Award, which is given to any team that completes a season without a red card.